Old Thoughts

Connecting Science and Scriptures : Satya Sarada Kandula : All Rights Reserved

Brihat Parasara Hora Sastra

  1. http://is1.mum.edu/vedicreserve/jyotish/parashara_hora_shastra.pdf
  2. Reference and Source of Brihat Parasara Hora Sastra.
  3. Refer Also : Graha means gravitational body not Planet.

Maitreya said that Jyothisha had 3 parts – Horā, Ganita and Samhita. And he wished to learn Hora from Parasara, the father of Veda Vyasa.

In this article, I am not going to reproduce the entire sastra, only some quotations.

  • Ch. 46. Dashas of Planets : Vimshottari 12-14. Beginning from ^Kritika, the Lords of Dashas are Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury, Ketu and Venus in that order. Thus, if the Nakshatras from Kritika to the Janma Nakshatra are divided by nine, the remainder will signify the Lord of the commencing Dasha. The remaining Dashas will be of the Planets in the order, given above. In Kali Yuga the natural life-span of a human being is generally taken, as 120 years. Therefore Vimshottari Dasha is considered to be the most appropriate and the best of all Dashas. 15. The periods of Dashas of Sun, Moon, Mars, Rahu, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury, Ketu and Venus are 6, 10, 7, 18, 16, 19, 17, 7 and 20 in that order.
  • Parasara quotes Siva in the 83rd chapter:  Mahārśi Parasara replied. I will now tell you, whatever Lord Shiva told Goddess Parvati in this respect…… Later Chapters contains remedies, the manner of prayers to the navagrahas etc.

^ Starting with krithika is appropriate for that period in which this sastra was originally written.

Other Notes and Comments : Some of the earlier chapters specifically Chapter 2 and Chapter 3 are later additions, not written by Parasara. They may have been efforts to reconcile various schools of philosophy.

  • Ch. 1. The Creation: Lord Vishnu, coupled with Śrī Shakti, rules over the three worlds. Coupled with Bhoo Shakti, He is Brahma causing the Universe. Coupled with Neel Shakti, He is Shiva, destroying the Universe. All beings contain both Jivatma and Paramatmāńśas. The luminaries contain more of the Paramatma amsa (fraction).
  • Ch. 2. Great Incarnations : The four incarnations, viz. Ram, Krishna, Narasimha and Varaha are wholly with Paramatmāńś. 5-7. From Sun came the incarnation of Rama, from Moon that of *Krishna, from Mars that of Narasimha, from Mercury that of *Budha, from Jupiter that of Vamana, from Venus that of Parasurama, from Saturn that of Kurma (Tortoise), from Rahu that of Varaha (Boar) and from Ketu that of Matsya (Fish ) occurred. Incarnations other than these also are through the grahas. The beings with more Paramatmāńś are called divine beings.  The high degree of Paramatmāńś from the grahas, viz. Sun etc. did incarnate, as Ram, Krishna etc. After completing the mission, the Paramatmāńśas (of the respective) grahas again merge (in the respective) grahas. The Jivatma portions from the grahas take births, as human beings and live their lives according to their dasas and again merge in the grahas.
  • Ch. 3. Planet Characters and Description : 4-6. Those are called grahas, which move through the Nakshatras (or stellar mansions) in the zodiac. The said zodiac comprises of 27 Nakshatras ** commencing from Ashvini. The same area is divided in 12 parts equal to 12 Rāśis commencing from Aries. The names of the grahas commence from Sun. The Rāśi rising is known, as Lagna. Based on Lagna and the Planets, joining and departing from each other, the natives good and bad effects are deducted.
  • 18. Deities of Planets. Fire (Agni) (?), Water (Varuna), Subrahmanya (Lord Shiva’s son, following Ganesha), Maha Vishnu, Indra, Shachi Devi (the consort of Lord Indra) and Brahma (?) are the presiding deities of the 7 Planets in their order.
  • The 24th verse describes the moon as a woman. This is in contrast to the later chapters where the Moon is decribed as male, consistent with other scriptures.
  • “Out of all the grahas Saturn is the eldest. He is lame and has big teeth.”  – But our tradition considers Saturn as the son of Surya. The greek Cronos, identified with the roman saturn, is the “old one”.
  • Lord Brahma has described 16 kinds of Vargaas (Divisions) for each Rāśi
  • 2-3. Parāśara: O Brahmin, listen to the account of placement of the heavenly bodies. Out of the many luminous bodies sighted in the skies some are nakshatras, yet some are grahas. Those, that have no movements, are the Nakshatras (asterisms).
  • Ch. 6. The Sixteen Divisions of a Rāśi: The Rāśi, owned by a graha, is called its Kshetra.
  • Ch. 10. Antidotes for Evils : Sun in 12th will confer a hundred-year life span on one born in Libra Lagna.

* Gautama Kasyapa Buddha was born in year 1790 of  Kaliyuga and Parasara was a Dwapara Yuga Rishi. Either he refers to another Buddha, or this chapter/verse is a later addition. Also this speaks of Krishna as an avatar. Krishna was the great grandson generation to Parasara, he was a cousin to Vyasa’s grandchildren (the Kauravas). The date of this entire verse 5-7 is in doubt.

** The older texts commence from Krittika Nakshatram. A start from Ashwini Nakshatram indicates a later document.

Written by 1 2 Next Change!

September 2, 2009 at 11:23 am

%d bloggers like this: