Old Thoughts

Connecting Science and Scriptures : Satya Sarada Kandula : All Rights Reserved

Graha means gravitational body not Planet.

Graha means to hold. The Indian word loosely translated as planet is Graha. It is suggestive of  grav-itation.

The word ‘planet’ itself is derived from the word ‘wanderer’ (unlike the fixed stars).

That is why Surya and Chandra are also “grahas”. It is also why Rahu and Ketu are called Chaya (Shadow) Grahas.

The word Graha is used from the earliest days in Indian Texts.

The nine grahas are Surya (Sun), Chandra (Moon), Kuja (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Sukra (Venus), Sani (Saturn), Rahu and Ketu.

It is wrong to translate the word graha as a planet and then to be crtical of calling Surya and Chandra as grahas. The error is not in our astronomy. The error is in the translation from Sanskrit to English and other languages.

Authorship and Copyright Notice : All Rights Reserved : Satya Sarada Kandula


3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] reaching Sri Lanka. This is all the more interesting since Rahu is a chaya graha or a shadow graha. As the author of Surya Siddhantam, Maya described how eclipses were caused.. and it had nothing […]

  2. […] to do with graha alignments – astronomical […]

    Yugas | srivatsangar

    November 15, 2015 at 10:16 am

  3. […] later day astrology and vimsottari dasa systems, Nakshatras were dedicated to grahas such as sukra, kuja etc. The graha nakshatridhipathi for Krutika is Kuja, Mangal or […]

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: