Old Thoughts

Connecting Science and Scriptures : Satya Sarada Kandula : All Rights Reserved

Devas and Asuras. Tripura

As per Siva Purana retold by Ramesh Menon.

I just finished this back yesterday.

Here are some interesting ideas that I found.

  • Devas and Asuras (Step-Siblings) rule the world in turn for very long periods of time. The Asuras seize power through battle. The Devas are unhappy about this and are re-instated at the appropriate time” by Hari and Hara.
  • Devas are the Gods of Light. Asuras are the gods of darkness.
  • I think the sky looks different from time to time .. as the earth and sun move through and with the galaxy. This could have to do with the Devas and Asuras alternating control of the worlds.
  • Many of the Asuras ruled wisely and well and people were equally happy in their reign as in the reign of the Devas.


The three asuras built 3 cities, one on earth, one in svarga and one in patala. These align once in a thousand years in Pushya Masa. (This lunar month).

Then Siva destroys them with a single arrow.. riding on a chariot made of time with a bow that sounds like sagittarius or Dhanus (Bow).

I think Arudra ( in Taurus/ Vrishabha) lines up with tha stars that represent the arrow in Dhanus.. and those point to Swarga, Bhumi and Patala.

The 14 worlds:

These are PERPENDICULAR to the plane of our galaxy. 7 “above” and 7 “below”.

From Vishnu Nabhi (navel) – which is the centre of our galaxy emerged a huge stalk at the end of which was a lotus in which Brahma sat. (Satya Loka is Brahma’s world). Imagine a quasar with matter bursting out from the centre in both directions, with worlds at various levels.

We know that our galaxy is at an angle to the part of the universe that we are in.

It should be possible to identify the 14 worlds. (satellite galaxies?)


Was also born in Margashira masa.


Written by 1 2 Next Change!

October 7, 2008 at 5:33 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Devas: Initially, the brahmans worshipped the devas, as per special rites using special mantras. The devas attended these rituals called Yajnas. (The word yaj means to worship). They accepted their share of the offerings. Soma Rasa (a kind of alcohol) was made from plants and animals were freshly slaughtered. The devas protected the brahmans and their Yajnas. The devas never seemed to have performed Yajnas themselves. Indra is called SataKratu, which means a 100 times talented or powerful, but some people think it means he performed 100 kratus (sacrifices). The east coast of Andhra Pradesh where the Krishna and Godavari enter the Bay of Bengal, is full of places associated with Devas and their names. This is where the Devas may have lived. As per the puranas, the Devas were forever fighting the Asuras for control of the earth. Some Asuras were noble kings, like Prahlada and Mahabali. Some Asuras were not fond of brahmans and went out of their way to destroy the Yajnas and pollute the places of worship by messing things up. Tarakasura was from the east coast (Tanuku), Mahishasura was from Mysore, Mooshikasura was from the west coast. In the early Vedic hymns, Asura was an adjective that meant mighty!. So the brahmans and devas always sided with each other. Today, the brahmins believe that the devas have magical or mystical powers and that they can control the forces of nature. They believe firmly that the devas can be invoked by mantras even when they are physically far away. (Click here: for an astronomical perspective of Devas and Asuras.) […]

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: